Pavol Jozef Šafárik University


Kosice, Slovakia


The University in its modern form was established in 1959 as the second university in Slovakia. It has made an important contribution to the development of educational and research activities in Slovakia. At present the UPJS consists of four faculties: Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Public Administration.

The Faculty of Medicine was established in 1948 as a branch of the Faculty of Medicine of the Slovak University, later called Comenius University in Bratislava. Then in 1959, the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Philosophy merged, which led to the foundation of a new university in Eastern Slovakia, called Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice.

The Faculty of Medicine at Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice closely co-operates with many significant universities and institutions in: Prague, Paris, Nantes, Bordeaux, Padova, Essen, Giessen, Düsseldorf, Amsterdam, Utrecht, Zürich, Turku, Oulu, Salamanca, Krakow and others.

Overview of the Town or City

Košice is a friendly place with two faces, like most larger Slovak towns – surrounded by grim housing estates, but concealing many treasures inside the downtown core. The metropolis of the east and the second largest Slovak city, Košice offers everything, from a beautifully reconstructed downtown to many cultural institutions, shopping malls, places to spend free time, and, increasingly, progressive industrial areas. Once a key royal town in the Austro-Hungarian monarchy, Košice has never lost its aristocratic atmosphere.


Medicine: € 10,000 pa
Dentistry: €11,000 pa

Degree courses available through english:

→ Medicine – PJSU → Dentistry – PJSU